IRE|BS Foundation for African Real Estate Research

Foster research on African real estate by supporting talented and motivated African researchers, universities and institutions in the field of real estate.


The IREBS International Real Estate Business School is an integral part of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Information Systems at the University of Regensburg. With its broad range of educational programs in Real Estate, IREBS is one of the largest institutions in Europe and worldwide. It is ranked No. 1 in Germany and No. 2 in Europe.

The IREBS Foundation for African Real Estate Research was founded in 2010 by Prof. Dr. Karl-Werner Schulte HonRICS and several founding donors. The nonprofit institution is a civil foundation with legal capacity and is registered and supervised by the Government of Upper Palatine (Oberpfalz).

The African Real Estate Research Center (AfRER) is a competence center at the IREBS International Real Estate Business School. IREBS and AfRER were established by Prof Dr. Karl-Werner Schulte HonRICS.

Visiting Professor for African Real Estate is Dr. Moses Kusiluka.

We regard IREBS and AfRER to be the basis from which we lead our operations and provide African researchers with an exceptional academic environment and infrastructure.

The African Real Estate Society (AfRES) , founded in 1997, is a continent-wide organization that seeks to promote networking, research and education among academics and professionals across Africa. It is affiliated to the International Real Estate Society (IRES), along with sister societies in North America (ARES), Asia (AsRES), Europe (ERES), Pacific Rim (PRRES) and Latin America (LaRES). AfRES membership is currently organized on three regions: (1) Southern Africa (Republic of South Africa, Botswana, Swaziland, Lesotho, Mozambique, Mauritius, Madagascar, Zambia, Angola and Namibia; (2) Eastern Africa (Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Republic of Congo, Seychelles, Eritrea, Djibout, Comoros, Ethiopia, Sudan and Somalia; (3) Western Africa (Nigeria, Ghana, Mauritania, Senegal, Mali, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Siera Leonne, Togo, Benin, Cameroon, Chad, Central Africa Republic, Congo Brazaville, and Gabo. Unfortunately, the Northern African countries of Egypt, Libya, Tunis, Algeria and Morocco have no links with AfRES.